Four Weeks. Let’s Do This.

Hey Blog world. Somehow my primary “Confessions of a Chubby Runner” was hacked. Someone stole my password and is holding it hostage. That’s fine. I’ll start again here at “Just for the Kale of it”, because honestly, I’m not really chubby anymore, and they can have that name if they want it. I dig Kale more than I dig being chubby.

Moving on…. I’m four weeks out from my first half marathon of the year, the Boston Run to Remember, and if you follow me on twitter you’ve probably heard enough about training. But then again, if you didn’t care about my training you would probably unfollow me, not click the links to my running blog and stop stalking me. Since you’re still here I will assume you care to read about my training. Right? Right.

I’ve been in a little bit of a run slump lately, and I’m not sure why. My job is really exciting and I know if I don’t wake up early for my run I’m not going to get on it. I haven’t really been very excited about waking up early, so I haven’t been running as regularly as I’d like. I hope I haven’t kissed my PR goodbye. According to McMillan’s Magical Race predictorI should expect a finish just under 2 hours. That’s what I’m shooting for. My fingers are crossed.

This is what I should do every night to make the transition from bed to street easier. But I don’t. Because I’m a slacker.

I ran yesterday afterwork. It’s about 2.5 miles to my gym so I ran there, lifted (more on that in a second), then ran home. It was a nice run and I enjoyed it. I don’t usually lift in the middle of a 5 mile run so the 2.5 miles home was interesting.

I’m always thinking about how important it is for me to incorporate more lifting in my workout schedule because I know it will make me a stronger runner overall. I am usually good about it for a week or so then I end up only running. I love running. I don’t love lifting as much, ya know? SO, yesterday I went to the gym and this is how my workout went.

The mountain climbers were sort of a “warm up” even though I ran to the gym. Then I did move a followed by move b as one “set” I rested 30 seconds between each set and completed 3 sets before moving on to the next set. Does this make sense? I hope so. It wasn’t a really challenging workout, but I’m definitely feeling it today. You should see me doing those pistol squats. It’s embarrassing. I have no balance.

Usually when I go to the gym to lift I bring a notebook so I can write everything down. I make a lifting plan before I leave home and then during the workout I write what I actually did and how I felt. It’s my way of tracking my progress and holding myself accountable. I also have to make a plan. Without a plan I just dillydally around the gym. I don’t like to carry things when I run, so yesterday I wrote my workout plan down on a piece of paper and snapped a picture with  my iphone:

Don’t mind my awful chicken scratch or the fact that I actually did different workouts then I wrote down. Some meathead was hogging the cable machine I was going to use for chest fly’s. Push ups work too. I also did the workout on Monday, not Friday. I know the days of the week. Stop judging me. I can feel it.

How do you track your progress at the gym? Do you make a plan when you workout or just wing it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Four Weeks. Let’s Do This.

  1. girlsthatrun says:

    I had to google “pistol squad” and holy smokes – what?!?! I would fall on my butt for sure. Maybe I’ll try it out at home before tackling it in public 🙂

    Go get that PR!!!

    • jocelynrb says:

      I’m just grateful for the fact that there is a “women’s only” section at my gym. So the dudes can’t watch and laugh at my wimpy balance.

  2. Carrie says:

    Love this! I know I need to start cross training more, but it’s just so hard! I’m starting small – lunges and squats and sit ups. We will see how it goes. =)

  3. Dr. Grove says:

    I posted some at home workouts you can do in less than 20 minutes with no weights on my blog http://www.weightlosscounterrevolution.com. The workouts can all be repeated weekly with measurable results so you can track progress. There’s also lots of good healthy weight info on the blog. Check it out and let me know what you think. Thanks, Dan

Leave a Reply

